RMC Awards Disher Scholarship


  The 2017 RMC Spencer C. Disher Scholarship was awarded to Orangeburg native and Claflin University graduate James Stroman to assist with his medical school education at the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine.  
The Regional Medical Center (RMC) has awarded the 2017 Spencer C. Disher MD Scholarship to James Stroman II of Orangeburg.

Established in 2008, the Spencer C. Disher, MD Scholarship is a private, local scholarship offered through the Nurturing the Pipeline program at RMC that is traditionally awarded to students from South Carolina State University and Claflin University who have been accepted to medical school.

Stroman will receive $25,000 per year for four years to help defray the cost of his medical education.

“The Regional Medical Center is pleased to award this special scholarship in memory of long-time Orangeburg physician Dr. Spencer Disher,” said Bert Whitaker, RMC interim president & CEO. “It is our hope that this scholarship will not only assist area graduates with the cost of medical school, but it will encourage recipients to return to this region to practice after they complete their medical education.”

Stroman is a first-year medical student at the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM). He received his master’s degree in health science from Meharry Medical College in Nashville, Tenn. He received his bachelor’s degree in biology with a minor in chemistry from Claflin University in Orangeburg. He graduated from Orangeburg-Wilkinson High School in 2009.

Stroman served previously as a medical scribe in the RMC Emergency Department from 2013 - 2015, and was named chief scribe in 2015. Stroman’s career goals are to specialize in pediatrics and to return to Orangeburg to serve the RMC community.

Prior to attending medical school, Stroman participated in RMC’s Summer Enrichment Program, which provides college students hands-on hospital experiences in clinical and non-clinical settings. Stroman also participated in RMC’s Nurturing the Pipeline Program, which is a collaborative program between RMC and local colleges to increase the number of underrepresented minority students from South Carolina, especially Orangeburg and Calhoun counties, attending medical school.

Dr. Disher served the local community for more than 43 years. He was a member of RMC medical staff and served as chief of medical staff in 1988. A graduate of Meharry Medical College, he served on its board of trustees. Additionally, he served as vice president of the S.C. State Board of Medical Examiners; a member of the board of trustees of the National Medical Association (NMA); as chairman of the NMA Grants and Proposals Committee; and as chairman emeritus of the Reference Committee on Public Health and Consumer Affairs of NMA’s House of Delegates. A 1977 fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians, Dr. Disher served as vice president of the S.C. Chapter. He was a member of the board of directors of the Orangeburg Area Mental Health Center, chairman of the board of the Palmetto State Medical, Dental and Pharmaceutical Association and director of student health at Claflin University.

Scholarship recipients are selected by the Spencer C. Disher MD Medical Scholarship Committee comprised of representatives from South Carolina State University, Claflin University, Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College, the Regional Medical Center, area healthcare providers and the community

Back to News Listing